The Union for Train Drivers in Victoria

The Locomotive Division of the RTBU covers all Locomotive and Train Drivers in Victoria.

For all non drivers and information on Rail Operations and Infrastructure, including membership, please go to the Victorian Branch website

In 1861 – The first union of locomotive enginemen was formed when 20 drivers banded together to form the “Locomotive Engine Drivers Association of Victoria” , now the RTBU Locomotive Division in Victoria has almost 2000 members and counting!   read more.

PTC 1994 Book of Rules and Operating Procedures
Members now have access to the Book of Rules (Metro Specific Network) online via the member portal login.

RTBU Elections

Election Notice: Victorian Branch 2018


Maurice Blackburn’s – National asbestos, dust, fumes and chemicals register

It’s a good idea to document any asbestos and or/dust, fumes and chemical exposure in case you do develop an asbestos-related or occupational lung disease later in life. Maurice Blackburn’s free National Asbestos, Dust, Fumes and Chemicals Register is a convenient way to do this. Recording the details of your exposure, regardless of how recent or long ago it was, can help any future claims for compensation you may need to make. Registration is free, and obligation-free as well. The register has helped a number of clients prove their exposure through workmate statements.

"Failing to grease squeaky rails caused train to jump tracks: watchdog"

By Timna Jacks - The Age 16 May 2018

 Metro Trains’ poor track maintenance led to the derailment of a train carrying more than 100 passengers,an investigation by the transport safety watchdog has found. Read More HERE

The derailed train. Photo: Luis Enrique Ascui The Age Online 16/5/18

If you need a Union Representative for a meeting- please contact the Union Office ASAP via phone or Email.

Please do not rely on your company to contact the Union.

Please ensure, if possible, you have the Date and Time of your meeting so a Union Representative can be scheduled to attend with you.

Representatives are being booked every day for Membership representations as well as other important matters such as EA meetings.

Scholarships are available to the children of Financial RTBU Locomotive Division members’ . Please click HERE to go to the Department of Education scholarships page and view the open scholarships.  For more information- please  go to Member Benefits  (log in to your Member Portal is required) to view detailed information) 


“A “decline” in maintenance on Melbourne’s metropolitan rail network has been blamed for the derailment of a Metro train in 2016. …..The ATSB found the train was operating within the speed limit when it derailed, saying the main factors contributing to the accident were the high co-efficient of friction between wheel and rail and the geometry of a rail joint…” Read More 

14/05/18 – NINE news – “It’s been chaos for commuters travelling on Melbourne’s Cranbourne and Pakenham lines, with a track fault causing major delays during the evening peak….”  read more

12/01/18 – The Age – Metro Trains and Yarra Trams have failed to meet tough new targets set by the Andrews Government in their first month operating under renewed $7 billion, seven-year contracts..”- read more here

The Age  19/7/17 – “A senior  V/Line manager … paid an annual salary of more than half a million dollars, …alleged by Victoria’s anti-corruption watchdog to have also profited from…training scam. “. read more here